Inspiration from Illustrator Hilda T. Miller 1876~1939

Hilda T. Miller

 

Fairies. I have always loved them. I’ve filled my world with them!

I dream and draw fairies, and make fairy houses in my magical forest where there truly are real fairies. I know I’ve seen them, but that’s a story for another day.

This story is about my quest to find information about a illustrator named Hilda T. Miller, she lived from 1876 to 1939.

Her beautiful watercolors of fairies have a special feel, something magical

My journey started when I found a blog titled  A Polar Bear’s Tale.

I was so enchanted with the story told, it inspired me to embark on my own adventure.

I have learned from my investigation into her career that Hilda T. Miller’s illustrations were commissioned for a book, “Dulcibella & The Fairies”, author Alice Raiker, published by C.W. Faulkner 1925.

In addition, Hilda’s art was used in a printing of “Grimm’s Fairy Tales” in 1921.

 

 

Dulcibella & The Fairies

Author: Raiker, Alice Illustrated by: Miller, Hilda T. Published by: C.W. Faulkner & Co. Ltd.

 

From the "Grimm's Fairy Tale" printing by C. W. Falukner, originally published in 1921 and dated 1933 on the back

From the “Grimm’s Fairy Tale” printing by C. W. Falukner, originally published in 1921 and dated 1933 on the back

 

Further investigation has turned up…

Hilda was interested in art from an early age although it was not encouraged by her family. She studied at Birmingham Art School, the Slade and St Albans Art School. As a result of her Fathers connections, she had her work accepted by Liberty & Co and produced advertising, calenders, greetings cards and postcards for them between 1910 and 1918. She went on to produce illustrations for book publishers.  Found here ~> Beadazzled

Vintage postcard A Fairy Vision Hilda T. Miller

Vintage postcard
A Fairy Vision
Hilda T. Miller

I’ve been unable to come up with more information and welcome any who can shed more light on Hilda T. Miller.

Thank’s for stopping by.

We Are All Buddha’s

Fairies & Bunny's Hilda T. Miller

Fairies & Bunny’s Hilda T. Miller

 

2 thoughts on “Inspiration from Illustrator Hilda T. Miller 1876~1939

Leave a comment